• Admin


Member for Shellharbour, Anna Watson, has launched a community campaign calling on the Berejiklian Government to establish a Service NSW Centre in Dapto.

In November 2015, the NSW Government closed the Shellharbour Motor Registry. To assist with the transition, a temporary Service NSW digital kiosk was set up at Stockland Shellharbour. This kiosk was closed in 2017, over two years ago and never replaced.

Shellharbour is the only state electorate in the Illawarra region that does not have a dedicated Service NSW centre.

Local residents are currently forced to travel to Service NSW Centres in Warrawong, Kiama or Wollongong, to access basic government services. In February 2019, the NSW Government announced they would establish 10 new Service NSW Centres, all of which are planned for growth suburbs in Sydney.

NSW Labor pledged to open a Service NSW centre in Dapto at the March 2019 election. This commitment was not matched by the NSW Liberals.

In June, NSW Minister for Customer Service, Victor Dominello MP, opened the 100th Service NSW Centre in New South Wales and declared the NSW Government had “hit a century”.

More information regarding the community campaign can be accessed online at www.annawatson.com.au/shellharbour-deserves-a-service-nsw.

Quotes attributable to Anna Watson MP, Member for Shellharbour:

“My community want their fair share.

“My residents pay their taxes, they deserve the same access to basic government services as the rest of the Illawarra and the rest of New South Wales.

“Whilst the Minister is out there boasting about all of the Service NSW centres that have opened across the state, the people in my electorate are still forced to go without one.”

8 views0 comments

Office: Shop 3, 10 College Ave, Shellharbour City Centre Shellharbour  Mail: PO Box 242, Shellharbour City Centre NSW 2529

Phone: (02) 4297 3111 Email: shellharbour@parliament.nsw.gov.au

© 2018 This page is authorised by Anna Watson MP, Shop 3, 10 College Avenue,

Shellharbour City Centre, Shellharbour NSW 2529, funded using Parliamentary entitlements.