• jessicamclean0


Member for Shellharbour, Anna Watson MP, has today written to the Minister and asked him to reconsider after it was announced Dapto Station will no longer receive two sets of lifts under the NSW Government’s Transport Access Program 3 (TAP 3).

It was revealed by the Illawarra Mercury earlier today that Transport for NSW would not be installing lifts at Dapto Station, and will instead upgrade the existing pedestrian level crossing in order to save funds.

A planned upgrade for Dapto Station was announced by the NSW Liberals on 1 March 2019, prior to the recent State Election.

An artist’s impression of the project later uploaded to the Transport for NSW website showed Dapto Station would receive two lifts at the Northern end of the station to improve accessibility. This image has now been removed from the website.

Currently patrons of Dapto Station have to negotiate a level crossing to change platforms: a difficult task when using a wheelchair or for patrons with mobility issues.

The NSW Auditor-General’s report into the Transport Access Program released in February 2019 identified Dapto station as having the highest needs ranking for an upgrade, out of all 44 intercity train stations under consideration for TAP 3.

Of the stations being considered in this category, Dapto also had the second highest Benefit Cost Ratio and the second largest number of patrons per week.

Quotes attributable to Anna Watson MP, Member for Shellharbour:

“The NSW Government’s blatant contempt for the people of Dapto shouldn’t shock me anymore - but it does.

“Dapto is a huge growth area for our region. We shouldn’t be compromising on a project that would have finally brought this station into the 21st Century.

“There are stations that will be receiving fully-funded upgrades that had lower needs ratings and service less people. Dapto deserves its fair share.

“The Liberals are just over 50 days into their new term of Government and they’re already breaking their promises and making cutbacks.”

28 views0 comments

Office: Shop 3, 10 College Ave, Shellharbour City Centre Shellharbour  Mail: PO Box 242, Shellharbour City Centre NSW 2529

Phone: (02) 4297 3111 Email: shellharbour@parliament.nsw.gov.au

© 2018 This page is authorised by Anna Watson MP, Shop 3, 10 College Avenue,

Shellharbour City Centre, Shellharbour NSW 2529, funded using Parliamentary entitlements.