• jessicamclean0


A petition with nearly 14,000 signatories opposing the NSW Liberal Government’s proposal to construct a correctional facility at Kembla Grange has today been presented to Member for Shellharbour, Anna Watson MP, by local community group ‘Residents against Dapto Jail’.

On 9 April 2018, the Member for Kiama, Gareth Ward MP, announced that the Berejiklian Government was proposing to build a maximum-security prison on a site in Kembla Grange.

The announcement immediately generated strong community debate, and a concerned group of local residents came together to form the ‘Residents Against Dapto Jail’ group.

This group has been instrumental in the local campaign to stop the Government’s plans to build a jail in their backyards, with members spending countless hours writing submissions, organising events and collecting signatures for a petition opposing this proposal.

The petition has now exceeded 13,500 signatures: 3,500 signatures above the 10,000 needed to trigger a debate in NSW Parliament.

Member for Shellharbour, Anna Watson MP, will table the petition for discussion on the next parliamentary sitting day, Tuesday, 7 August 2018. Once tabled, the petition will be set as an order of the day, and its date of discussion will be scheduled and published on the NSW Parliament’s website.

Quotes Attributable to Anna Watson MP:

“To collect 13,500 signatures in just eight weeks is a mammoth achievement; a testament to the dedication and hard work of the ‘Residents Against Dapto Jail’ group.

“This petition further cements our community’s rejection of this proposal and I look forward to debating this issue on the floor of the NSW Parliament and representing the views of my community.

“The message is resoundingly clear, the residents of West Dapto and Kembla Grange will not accept this prison on their doorsteps and nor will I.”

26 views0 comments

Office: Shop 3, 10 College Ave, Shellharbour City Centre Shellharbour  Mail: PO Box 242, Shellharbour City Centre NSW 2529

Phone: (02) 4297 3111 Email: shellharbour@parliament.nsw.gov.au

© 2018 This page is authorised by Anna Watson MP, Shop 3, 10 College Avenue,

Shellharbour City Centre, Shellharbour NSW 2529, funded using Parliamentary entitlements.